Board of Trustees

The Elcano Royal Institute’s organisational structure is designed to enable it to fulfil its mission and objectives. Its various governing bodies aim to provide a balance between public and private interests.

The Institute’s senior body is the Board of Trustees, which oversees compliance with its goals and objectives, and exercises its duties either in plenary session or through an appointed Executive Committee. The Institute also has a Business Advisory Council and a Scientific Council.

The Board of Trustees was established on 27 December 2001 under the honorary presidency of  HRH the Prince of Asturias, and currently H.M the King is the Chairman of Honour. Emilio Lamo de Espinosa is the Chairman and Rafael Estrella is the Deputy Chairman.

The Board of Trustees is composed in such a way as to balance public and private interests on the one hand and the interests of government and opposition on the other. Former Prime Ministers Felipe González, José María Aznar and José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero are ex officio members, as are the Ministers of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, Defence, Education, Culture and Sport, and Economy and Competitiveness together with the chairmen of the Institute’s leading corporate funders. The Board of Trustees has one trustee nominated by the leading opposition party.

Academics and other leading representatives of Spanish cultural and social life also participate as elected members of the Board. It should be pointed out that the composition of the Board of Trustees is by no means definitive and may well expand to include new members, either as a result of the appearance of new corporate funders, or of the wish to make the Board more widely representative.

The Board -which meets in ordinary session at least twice a year- carries the highest responsibilities within the Institute, including those of representation, governance and administration. Among other duties it approves the research programme, the budget, the accounts and the annual report. It also appoints the Executive Committee, the Secretary and the Director. It appoints new trustees and, at the proposal of the Executive Committee, members of the Scientific Council.

The members of the Board of Trustees of the Elcano Royal Institute remember with gratitude and affection for Leopoldo Calvo Sotelo, Jesús de Polanco, Juan José Linz and Emilio Botín, who through their generosity and expertise as patrons contributed decisively to create and strengthen our institution.

Patronato del Real Instituto Elcano. Junio de 2016 / Board of Trustees of the Elcano Royal Institute. June 2016
(Click for larger view)

S.M. el Rey Felipe VI / H.M the King Felipe VI. José María Aznar, Emilio Lamo de Espinosa, Pedro Morenes, José Manuel García-Margallo, Felipe González, Íñigo Méndez de Vigo. Elcano Jun 2016
(Click for larger view)

Chairman of Honour: H.M the King

Rafael Estrella. Vice presidente / Vice Chairman. Elcano 2013

Rafael Estrella

Deputy Chairman

Felipe González. Elcano 2013

Felipe González

Former Prime Minister

José María Aznar. Elcano 2014

José María Aznar

Former Prime Minister

Enrique V. Iglesias. Elcano 2014

Enrique V. Iglesias

Former Secretary-General of the Ibero-American Secretariat

José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero. Elcano 2014

José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero

Former Prime Minister

Alfonso María Dastis Quecedo

Josep Borrell Fontelles

Minister. Ministry of Foreign Affairs, European Union and Cooperation

José Guirao

José Guirao Cabrera

Minister. Ministry of Culture and Sport

Margarita Robles Fernández

Margarita Robles Fernández

Minister. Ministry of Defence

Nadia María Calviño Santamaría. Elcano 2018

Nadia María Calviño Santamaría

Minister. Ministry of Economy and Business

Carlos Espinosa de los Monteros. Elcano 2013

Carlos Espinosa de los Monteros

The High Commissioner of Marca España

Marcelino Oreja. Elcano 2013

Marcelino Oreja

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs and Former EU Commissioner

Javier Solana. Elcano 2013

Javier Solana

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs. Former Minister of Education and Former Minister of Culture

Eduardo Serra Rexach.

Eduardo Serra Rexach

Former Chairman of Elcano Royal Institute

Gustavo Suárez Pertierra. Elcano 2013

Gustavo Suárez Pertierra

Former Chairman of Elcano Royal Institute

Rafael Naranjo. Elcano 2013

Rafael Miranda Robredo

Chairman. Acerinox

Fernando Alonso. Presidente, Airbus España / Presidente de Airbus España. Elcano 2015

Fernando Alonso

Head of Military Aircraft. Airbus Defence and Space

Javier Targhetta. Atlantic Copper. Elcano 2013

Javier Targhetta

Chairman & CEO. Atlantic Copper

Francisco González. BBVA. Elcano 2013

Francisco González

Chairman & CEO. BBVA

Jordi Gual Solé. CaixaBank. 2016

Jordi Gual Solé

Chairman. CaixaBank

Antonio Llardén. Enagás. Elcano 2013

Antonio Llardén

Chairman. Enagás

Ignacio S. Galán. Iberdrola. Elcano 2013

Ignacio S. Galán

Chairman & CEO. Iberdrola

Marta Martínez Alonso. IBM. Elcano 2013

Marta Martínez Alonso

President. IBM España

Pablo Isla Álvarez de Tejera. Inditex. Elcano 2013

Pablo Isla Álvarez de Tejera

Chairman & CEO. Inditex

Fernando Abril-Martorell. Presidente, INDRA / Chairman, INDRA. Elcano 2015

Fernando Abril-Martorell

Chairman. Indra

Jaime Montalvo Correa, Mutua Madrileña. Elcano 2017

Jaime Montalvo Correa

Deputy Chairman. Mutua Madrileña

Rafael Villaseca Marco. Gas Natural Fenosa. Elcano 2017

Rafael Villaseca Marco

Chairman, Naturgy Foundation

Juan-Miguel Villar Mir. OHL. Elcano 2013

Juan-Miguel Villar Mir

Chairman. Juan-Miguel Villar Mir Foundation

José Folgado Blanco. Red Eléctrica de España. Elcano 2015

José Folgado Blanco

Executive Chairman. Red Eléctrica de España

Isaías Táboas Suárez. Presidente / Chairman. Renfe. 2018

Isaías Táboas Suárez

Chairman. Renfe

Antonio Brufau. Repsol. Elcano 2013

Antonio Brufau

Chairman & CEO. Repsol

Emiliano López Atxurra. Presidente, Fundación Tecnalia Research & Innovation / Chairman, Tecnalia Research & Innovation Foundation. Elcano 2017

Emiliano López Atxurra

Chairman. Tecnalia Research & Innovation Foundation

Ana Botín-Sanz de Sautuola y O'Shea. Grupo Santander. Elcano 2014

Ana Botín

Chairman. Santander

José María Álvarez-Pallete López. Presidente Ejecutivo / Executive Chairman. Telefónica. Elcano 2016

José María Álvarez-Pallete López

Executive Chairman. Telefónica

Antonio de Oyarzábal, Exvicepresidente del Real Instituto Elcano / Former Deputy Chairman of the Elcano Royal Institute

Antonio de Oyarzábal

Exvicepresidente del Real Instituto Elcano

Gil Carlos Rodríguez Iglesias. Elcano 2013

Gil Carlos Rodríguez Iglesias

Former Director of the Elcano Royal Institute

To be confirmed. Proposed by the Popular Party (PP)

José Manuel Romero. Elcano 2013

José Manuel Romero

Secretary of the Board of Trustees

Ministerio de Asuntos Exteriores y de Cooperación / Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation. Elcano 2013
Ministerio Educación, Cultura y Dpeorte / Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport. Elcano 2013
Ministerio de Defensa / Ministry of Defence. Elcano 2013
Ministerio de Economía y Competitividad / Ministry of Economy and Competitivity. Elcano 2013
Acerinox. Elcano 2013
Airbus Group. Elcano 2015
Atlantic Copper. Elcano 2015
BBVA. Elcano 2016
CaixaBank. Elcano 2016
ENAGAS. Elcano 2013
Iberdrola. Elcano 2013
IBM. Elcano 2016
Inditex. Elcano 2013
Indra. Elcano 2013
Fundación Juan-Miguel Villar Mir. Elcano 2018
Mutua Madrileña. Elcano 2016
Naturgy. Elcano 2018
Red Eléctrica de España
Renfe. Elcano 2013
Repsol. Elcano 2013
Santander. Elcano 2013
Tecnalia Research & Innovation. Elcano 2017
Telefónica. Elcano 2013