Executive Committee

The executive body of the Institute, acting on the instructions of the Board of Trustees, is the Executive Committee, presided over by the chairman of the Board of Trustees. All members of the committee are designated by the trustees and are elected for renewable periods of five years.

It is up to the Committee to supervise fulfilment of the objectives and budgets of the Board of Trustees, to approve those events not specified in the Annual Programme but considered to be in the interest of the Institute, to propose new trustees and to examine the grounds on which agreements and protocols can be subscribed to. It also decides how available funds are distributed and applied, within the guidelines laid down by the Board of Trustees.

Executive Committee Members

Emilio Lamo de Espinosa
Elcano Royal Institute
Rafael Estrella
Deputy Chairman.
Elcano Royal Institute
Charles Powell
Elcano Royal Institute
Juan Antonio Yáñez-Barnuevo
Ambassador of Spain 
(Proposed by the Socialist Party PSOE)
Ildefonso Castro
Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs.
Ministry Foreign Affairs and Cooperation
Almirante Juan Francisco Martínez Núñez
Secretary General for Defence Policy.
Ministry of Defence
Fernando Benzo
Secretary of State for Culture.
Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport
Mª Luisa Poncela García
Secretary of State for Trade.
Ministry of Economy, Industry and Competitiveness
Luis Gimeno
General Counsel.
Macarena Gutiérrez
Economic and Financial Excecutive Director.
Atlantic Copper
Fernando Gutiérrez
Chairman's Office.
Pedro Montoya
Secretario General de Airbus Group en España.
Airbus Group
Jesús Saldaña
Business Development General Management.
Juan Manuel Cendoya
Vice-Chairman of the Board of Santander Spain.
Santander Group
Nieves Delgado
GB Enterprise Sales Vicepresident.
IBM España
Fernando Becker
Corporate Director of Iberdrola España.
Jesús Echevarría
General Director of Institutional Relations.
Íñigo de Palacio
International Affairs Director.
Juan Carlos Gallego
Executive Director of the Chairman's Technical Secretariat Office.
Lorenzo Cooklin Díaz
General Director of Fundación Mutua Madrileña / Director of Communications, Corporate Identity and CSR.
Mutua Madrileña
Luis García-Linares García
Corporate General Manager OHL Group.
Ana Cuevas Tello
Corporate Director of Sustainability, Innovation and Institutional Coordination.
Red Eléctrica de España
Francisco Minayo de la Cruz
Chief Operating Officer.
Ángel Luis Bautista Fernández
Corporate Director of Institutional Relations.
Hipólito Suárez Gutiérrez
General Counsel, Aernnova Aerospace.
Trinidad Jiménez
Global Strategy Director of Public Affairs.
José Manuel Romero
Secretary of the Board of Trustees.

(Updated: 14/3/2017)